Must-See Movies 2011 #1: Hobo with a Shotgun

Hobo with a Shotgun

Image coutesy of Wikipedia

Exploitation films are very difficult to judge. Sometimes there’s too much gore and not enough story, sometimes any hope of the good story meaning anything is lost by crap acting or directing, etc.

Machete pulled it off, as did the Tarantino/Rodriguez Grindhouse duo. I won’t even bother mentioning those that didn’t because that’s just not worth the effort…

There is one that has had my attention for a while now and after the awesome reception it had at the Sundance Festival, I am even more excited than I ever was. It started with the “fake” Grindhouse trailer which I honestly never thought would ever get made.

Then to my surprise, rumours that Jason Eisener was taking this project on began to surface. Cue excitement. Then came the best news ever: Rutger Hauer would be starring as the Hobo!! The legend of Bladerunner and The Hitcher fame is pretty much be the perfect person for the role of the Hobo.

I read this earlier last year and then it kinda got filed away, but then I happened to come across the new trailer again during the past week and just want to share it with all you folks out there who give a damn. I have a feeling the girlfriend won’t like this one though, so will probably watch with some mates or solo when I do! 🙂

Keep an eye out for this one…

Leave a Reply

