Revenge of the Zombie Girlfriend: The Reunion

Part 5:

Note: For the previous part of this story, click here, or to start from the beginning, click hereFor the full story, click here, or click here for the next part

Speechless. Now that was an understatement. Months of being alone had it’s toll on him and it was almost as if he had forgotten how to speak. All that came out was gibberish. Eventually one word escaped his mouth: “How?”

“I know you never used to speak much little brother, but this is an all new low for you. Not even a hello or a how are you. I have to say that I’m quite surprised to see you and I know the feeling is mutual. It must be in the genes. We’re survivors, that’s for sure.”

“I can’t believe its you Karen, I even wen’t to your house a few weeks after Z-Day-”

“After what?”

“Z-Day, that’s what I call the first day of the outbreak and uprising.”

“Kind’ve catchy, I have to say. You always were pretty creative. Pity it doesn’t mean much right here and now in this new world,” she said while moving towards the open doorway into the cabin.

“On the contrary sis, it’s probably my creative streak that got me out of quite a few close-calls. That and the fact that I’m practically a walking encyclopedia of the undead.” he said turning his attention to the scrawny teenager holding the shotgun. They had now moved into the cabin and sat down in the lounge where they had spent many a holiday as kids.

He carried on, “What happened to your family and who is this?

“Oh that’s Alex. He was my neighbour’s son. His parents were killed during the first week. We had escaped the initial attacks but one night while we were hiding in the city, we got surrounded and barely managed to escape. Somehow during the escape they got scratched though and within the day, had started turning. We had to kill them. Of the original group that had escaped, only the two of us were left after a month. Eight people gone, just like that including my family. I know it’s not much considering the possible billions dead since, but I didn’t know them. It still hurts like hell having lost them, but I’d rather not talk about it.” Tears were appearing.

Alex stood still the entire time, not saying a word. He had a sadness in his eyes. It was clear that he was still grieving in his own way.

“I’m really sorry sis, it must be tough. If you ever feel like talking about it, I’m here, but lets not talk about it now,” he said and gave his sister a big hug.

After they had finished, she carried on, “The saddest part of all is that ever since that day his parents were killed, he has not said a word. He was such a happy boy before… what did you call it? Z-Day. The only way he expresses himself anymore is by taking it out on the zombies. And he does that extremely well. I am not sure where he learnt to kill the way he does, but I have a feeling it’s a rage that has built up inside of him. I wish he would speak sometimes, but we all have our own way of dealing.”

“Must be kinda difficult I suppose. But you are definitely right, I think it must be his way of handling things. I have to ask though, how long have you been here? The place looks a lot neater than I thought it would be. It’s been years since I’ve been back here.”

“It’s been just short of a month. This place is out of the way if nothing else. We’ve had a few people find their way here but they never stayed long. We gave them food, they rested and then moved on. It was worthwhile though because being stuck out here, you tend to lose touch with what is going on.”

“My dearest sister, you don’t need to be in the middle of nowhere to lose touch. I barely know what is happening myself; only what I’ve seen with my own eyes. I’ve kept to myself ever since I was almost killed by a fellow survivor in the first couple of weeks. The collapse of civilisation has changed people.”

“Well then I don’t suppose you’ve heard about the supposed zombie army then?”

“The what?”

“Zombie army. The last people that came through here had barely escaped an attack on their group. They told us about an army of zombies heading this way. At first I didn’t believe them, but then they told us how they deliberately left some people alive… if that’s what you can call it ad seem to have a greater purpose. Besides eating human flesh of course”

“That’s not possible, zombies can’t think. They basically operate on instinct alone.”

“That’s what I said, but it wasn’t the only rumour I heard about them. If it is true, we can’t stay here either, because they’re heading straight for us. And I certainly don’t want to be here when they come. I don’t think army is exactly the right word, but I believe there are about fifty or more in total. You’re lucky you came along when you did, by this time tomorrow we were going to be out on the road again. Care to join us?”

Our hero sat and thought about it for a while. He had to admit that it would be nice to have some company for a change, but he really didn’t feel like having to watch other people’s backs. It was difficult enough taking care of himself. His thoughts were interrupted by Alex.

“Please help us.”

If our hero was dumbfounded by the boys words, then his sister, Karen, was even more so. Alex had spoken his first words in months. How could he say no to something like that. Tomorrow they would leave, together. Our hero would no longer be alone.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Alone, Dead and Moving | Chapin City Blues

  2. Pingback: Revenge of the Zombie Girlfriend: Zombie Army « My Conflicted Self

  3. Pingback: Revenge of the Zombie Girlfriend: Rest « My Conflicted Self

  4. Pingback: Revenge of the Zombie Girlfriend: The Survivors « My Conflicted Self

Leave a Reply

