RAGE!!

Road Rage

Image courtesy of Flickr

As I get older, I feel my dark side surfacing more and more. And I’ve figured out the reason. For the last year or two, I have become very impatient on the road with bad drivers and with general stupidity. Other than that I’m pretty chilled. I don’t get upset with bad service too much, I don’t snap at my friends. As long as you’re not a stupid idiot or driving crap nearby to me, you’re pretty safe.

That said, my definition of bad driving is very broad. As is my definition of idiots. So most days, getting to work and back involves at least three sessions of severe profanity or steering wheel bashing. The problem is that I got my license as soon as I turned 18, started working in a job that involved driving for most of my 12 hour shifts (for five years or so) and did defensive driving and advanced driving courses. I’ll admit that I may not follow speed limits, and may not always indicate (normally when it is obvious where I am going or there is no-one around that needs to know where I am going), but even though I may be a very aggressive driver, I am not a bad driver.

Some things that piss me off include: driving slowly, not observing what is going on, tailgating, not knowing how to use a traffic circle. I could go on all day, but you get the idea.

Then we come to stupid people. Bill Engvall has the whole comedy routine about stupid people and how they should be given signs warning us that they’re stupid.

I couldn’t agree with him more. I don’t have time for stupidity. Even from myself. Now the problem is that I work in IT, and for some people when it comes to PCs, they suddenly lose all their brain cells. I can understand if you don’t always know what is going on with a new piece of software or it’s something that you haven’t done before. But. And it is a big BUT. If you do the same thing wrong every day, or if I’ve sent you a guide with pretty pictures explaining everything, and you still want to phone me and say you can’t get it right, you can really just go screw yourself. What gets me even more frustrated is people who think they know what they’re doing, but don’t. If I send you a “how-to” guide and you don’t read it and screw up something, you can figure it out yourself. If you don’t change your password when it’s due to expire because you don’t have time, and then it expires, I will make you wait longer just to prove a point. I thought I was alone in this regard, but after speaking to a colleague in another branch and found out he is even more hectic about some things.

It’s not only at work that I pick it up. Even on the road, stupid people translate into bad drivers. They give you bad service, they annoy you with stupid questions. The list is endless, but the principle is the same.

I guess that simply put, stupid people and bad drivers are a blight on this planet and if they didn’t exist, the world would be a much better place. Harsh? Yes, but I stand by this…

Stupid People

4 responses

  1. yeah that particular conversation was possibly one of the best conversations I have ever been involved in. New Password: IAMANIDIOT

    March 29, 2011 at 2:50 pm

  2. I have to tell ya, I have less-and-less patience for people now that I’m older. I now understand why old people are so damn cranky. Over time, you get worn down…and basically those who aren’t inclined to curse may lean out their window and say “Hey Dumb ass!”

    Except, whenever I feel like doing that…I check it…usually got the kids w/me…but in Southern Calfornia you have to watch yourself you’ll get shot, or at a stop sign someone will get out and stab you…or something.

    No, you have to just take it…and don’t come to Los Angeles and watch a Dodger’s game wearing the other teams jersey…apparently, that’s a death sentence.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    April 7, 2011 at 4:39 pm

  3. I always used to say that I wouldn’t become as cranky as my dad. I didn’t want to be the mean old man type…
    Well I’m not old yet…😉

    April 7, 2011 at 5:01 pm

  4. Amanda Smit

    It is a fact of life that these people exist… doesn’t mean that we can’t feed these people to the zombies when the apocalypse strikes. #justsaying. Nadine, I’ll take you up on that new password thing. The next moron that can’t change a bloody password is getting that. OMG. This will probably be too difficult for them to grasp. Oh well, it’s the thought that counts.

    April 8, 2011 at 5:32 am

Leave a Reply

