The Katalina Blog Challenge #8: Screw Yous and Other Taboos

swearing in cartoon

Image via Wikipedia

I swear… a lot! Too fucking much actually. This is in all aspects of my of my life, from conversation to writing, so my feelings about the word in general are exactly how I feel about it in writing.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I am completely okay with swearing. In fact I completely endorse swearing. Sometimes saying “fuck” is better than me beating the shit out of something – human or not. I’m not a violent person, in fact I am a complete pacifist. The reason for this is my screwed up mind. Everything is going on in my head. I am imagining that I am beating you to a fucking pulp with a wooden club or blasting you away with a shotgun, while merely letting loose a mere “fuck” or “asshole” in real life. Hence my endorsement mentioned above. I used to, or still have, a t-shirt that was black with one image on it – an outline of a hand in white, pulling the middle finger. I’d walk around all day and if someone pissed me off or needed a good “fuck you”, I merely pointed. Very useful… until it stretched from wearing it too much. I don’t swear at inappropriate moments though and I can easily bury it in these situations. There are some places, however, or situations where I am used to swearing – my swearing comfort zones. Introduce a foreign element into these zones and I just can’t get it right though, I will still swear, but then feel kinda bad for doing it.

The thing I like about swear words is the their versatility and I think George Carlin described it best in his skit on the “Usage of the word fuck”.

Shit that is censored just pisses me off, in fact I spoke about this last year in a blog post on the topic of censorship. The world needs to grow a pair and stop worrying about stupid shit like swearing and sex and shit that doesn’t fucking matter and focus on the serious problems. I realise that I am kind of ranting and going crazy here, but this is a topic that really gets me going. We need to prioritise shit in our short life on this rock floating in space, otherwise it just becomes our children’s problem and then their children’s problem and on and on and on. Starvation, War, Murder, Rape and much more vs Swearing.  I realise that I will probably have a exodus of Facebook friends, but I really don’t give a shit. This is how I feel, so just deal with it.

I will write what the fuck I want. I will say what the fuck I want. I will live my life that way that I fucking feel like. All within reason obviously😉

4 responses

  1. I think they need to invent a “fuck you” smiley face. How awesome would that be?

    April 6, 2011 at 5:34 pm

  2. If swearing helps you be yourself, then too fucking right!

    Cheers,
    Fran

    April 6, 2011 at 11:59 pm

  3. This reminds me of the movie The Mummy, with Brendan Fraiser. The gal asks him if he really saw the book of whatever

    “Do you swear?” and Brendan replies “Every damn day.”

    That line always cracks me up…we are huge movie fans in our home, and rewatch our favs. Whenever this scene plays, I have to stop what I’m doing to watch.

    Another scene is the 80’s flick, Secret Admirer, with Thomas C. Howell as a teen in love, he says “Good morning, Mr….” and the girlfriend’s dad is already muttering profanities and looks him square in the face and says “Fuck you.”

    Since I’m a mom of a 5 & 7 year old, I am trying to refrain from swearing. My favorite is Damn it…it doesn’t sound too great coming from a 5 year old…and in Orange County kids swearing is frowned upon…if you can believe that! WTH?

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    April 7, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

